Chakras are seven energy stations in your body. Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel of energy/light. They are located approximately along the spine, from the base of the spine to the top of the head. The state of each Chakra reflects the physical, psychological, emotional and spiritual well-being of a particular area of the body.

Understanding chakras provides a simple but powerful approach to discovering why circumstances arise and our reactions. Chakras extend outward into the aura. Each has a specific task and energy vibration, from dense to refined, designed to send out and pick up energy. Every thought and experience is filtered through these chakra databases. In other words, “your biography becomes your biology.”


Chakras provide us with deeper insight into:

• the body and physical health

• internal energies and emotional health

• patterns, cycles and mental health

• The relationship between us, others and the environment

Exploring your chakras will open a well of wise knowledge that leads to inspired action.

Three lower Chakras (1,2,3.) Physical awareness. Survival, Relationships, creativity, sexuality and self-esteem

Middle Chakra (4) Unconditional Love – connects physical and spiritual

Three top Chakras (5,6,7.) Spiritual Awareness. balanced communication, higher self, will and intuition

We can also use the seven chakra symbols as blueprints to navigate us to broader solutions in our everyday lives.

For example, if specific physical symptoms are experienced, we can look to the governing chakra for clues. For example – We can examine the throat chakra if a sore throat or loss of voice is exhibited and examine the myriad of symbolic connections that may affect the throat. This chakra deals with self-expression, listening and higher will. Perhaps the throat issues are asking the above aspects to be reflected on. Are you speaking the truth from your heart, are you living your life from your highest expression, are you willing to live a life from your inner truth, and do you actively listen to yourself and others?

Chakras and Colour

I like using chakras as guideposts for intuitive work, particularly with colour. When I experience specific colours, I refer to the corresponding chakra (i.e., red for base chakra), and I consider what that chakra represents. This helps me retrieve more meaning from events in my life and my clients.

To fine tune your relationship with colour and understand how if effect your life, check out my card deck Mandala Healing Oracle.

May this information assist you in becoming all that you can be. We are all doing the best we can.

Until next time be Kind, Curious and Dream Big!

In loving colour, Denise

Subscribe below to receive a free guided meditation and regular updates from me.

Your privacy is important to me.  

Full details of my privacy policy can be found here